Dec 14, 2013; New York, NY, USA; (From left to right) Northern Illinois Huskies quarterback Jordan Lynch, and Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel, and Auburn Tigers running back Tre Mason, and Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback AJ McCarron, and Boston College Eagles running back Andre Williams and Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston pose for a photo with the Heisman Trophy during a press conference before the announcement of the 2013 Heisman Trophy winner at the Marriott Marquis in New York City. Mandatory Credit: Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

Winston Wins Heisman in a Runaway Vote

There will be no back to back Heisman campaign this season after Jameis Winston was the winner this year by a landslide. Johnny finished fifth in the final results. The Heisman seems to be less about the best player in college football but the best player on a winning team. Winston also won the Dave O’Brien award and Walter Camp awards.

The Aggies went 0-5 in awards this year and it seems they only awarded Winston based on his team playing for the National Championship. Manziel is by far the best player in college football and it is unfortunate that it wasn’t even close in voting. We may be spoiled getting to see SEC football each Saturday but those in the northwest and northeast should tune in. Manziel finishing fifth shows you that the voters weren’t paying attention to football this year.

Here are the final results:

1 Jameis Winston

2 AJ McCarron

3 Jordan Lynch

4 Andre Williams

5 Johnny Manziel

6 Tre Mason

There is no reason that Mason and Manziel should be behind Lynch and McCarron.

In terms of Winston, Bruce Feldman said 115 voters left him off their ballot.


Next Aggies Game Full schedule »

Tags: Heisman Trophy Johnny Manziel

comments powered by Disqus