Texas A&M Football: The History of how Aggie football came to be

(Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images)
(Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images) /
5 of 6

The 1990’s


The Aggies go an incredible 94-28 (that’s a .770 winning percentage), and only lose at home four times in that span, under RC Slocum. Slocum would finish his time with the Aggies as the winningest head coach at Texas A&M, with 123 wins.

February 25, 1994

The Big XII Conference is formed, combining the former Big Eight conference schools (Colorado, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State) with four Southwest Conference schools (Baylor, Texas, Texas A&M, and Texas Tech).


The Aggies win their first and only Big XII Championship, defeating Kansas State 36-33. Oh, doctor! Coincidentally, this is also the last conference championship that the Aggies have won. They did not repeat in the Big XII and have yet to win a title as a member of the SEC.