Texas A&M football: 30 greatest players of all-time

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M Aggies. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M Aggies. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images) /
15 of 30
Richmond Webb
Richmond Webb. Mandatory Credit: Rick Stewart /Allsport /

Stats – N/A

Accolades – All-Southwest Conference in 1989

Team signature moment – Won the Southwest Conference Championship in 1986 and 1987

Despite being recruited as a defensive lineman and switching positions upon arriving on campus, Richmond Webb might be the best offensive linemen in school history, despite not receiving as many accolades as a Luke Joeckel or Jake Matthews.

His only accomplishment in this regard was being named to the All-Southwest Conference team in 1989, as the Aggies rushed for 200 yards per game that season.

Webb was instrumental in the Aggies running attack in the late 1980s and was part of two conference championship teams. He would go on to be the No. 9 overall pick by the Miami Dolphins in the 1990 NFL Draft. He made the Pro Bowl seven consecutive years starting with his rookie season, in which he was named NFL Rookie of the Year by the Sporting News.

He protected the blind side of Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Marino for 11 seasons and the Dolphins made the playoffs in eight of those nine seasons. He finished his career with the Cincinnati Bengals.

This past April, Webb made a NFL Draft pick for the Dolphins and he was also an honorary captain at an Aggie football game in 2005. He is in the Dolphins Honor Roll and some believe should be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.