Selection Sunday 2024: Time, Date & How to Watch men's and women's special

When will we find out who is in the big dance?

The Blue Hens (including, from left) Davis Long, Dylan Painter, Ryan Allen, head coach Martin
The Blue Hens (including, from left) Davis Long, Dylan Painter, Ryan Allen, head coach Martin / William Bretzger / Delaware News Journal
facebooktwitterreddit

How to Watch Selection Sunday 2024: Time, Date, Channel information

Believe it or not, Selection Sunday is less than a month away. This has been a tumultuous season for Texas A&M basketball in particular, and a real roller coaster when it comes to the question of whether the Aggies will find themselves in the Big Dance when all is said and done.

As Aggie basketball fans we know too well that the TV special where the field of 68 is announced takes place on the same day as the SEC championship. The Aggies played in the championship each of the last two years, losing both; but only one of those years saw the Aggies make the field.

This year, the Selection Sunday special takes place on Sunday, March 17. It will begin at 6 PM eastern (5 PM central), and will air on CBS. In this special, the field of 68 will be announced for the men’s tournament. The women’s Selection Sunday special will air two hours later, at 8 PM ET (7 PM CT) and will be on ESPN.

If things continue on their current trajectory for Texas A&M basketball, Aggie Hoops fans may be white-knuckling things right up until the special. Given the remaining schedule, the Aggies may have to pull out a couple of unlikely wins to feel comfortable headed into the conference tourney.

When the special rolls around, we’ll have all our questions answered. The Ags, even when they made it last year, were handed an unfavorable matchup in the first round. Hopefully, this time around, Texas A&M basketball will be playing well enough to take on any team. For that to happen, though, some things will need to change for this Aggie squad—and quickly.

feed