Texas A&M Football: The History of how Aggie football came to be

(Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images)
(Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images) /
3 of 6
(Photo by Tom Hauck/Getty Images)
(Photo by Tom Hauck/Getty Images) /

Late 1910’s-1929


The D.X. Bible-led Aggies finish the season a perfect 10-0 (4-0 in the Southwest Conference) and by some accounts win their first National Championship.


Texas A&M defeats Centre College 22-14 in the Dixie Classic. This is the game when the 12th Man tradition was born.


The Aggies finish 8-0-1 (4-0-1) and win their second National Championship, although that is disputed, much like their 1919 win.


December 8-9, 1932

The Southeastern Conference is formed from the larger schools in the Southern Conference. These were schools west and south of the Appalachian Mountains. The original members were Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Sewanee, Tennessee, Tulane, and Vanderbilt.


Homer Norton’s 1939 team finished 11-0 (6-0) and beat the fifth ranked Tulane Green Wave in the Sugar Bowl. This is the first season Texas A&M is the consensus National Champion. This also starts a string of three years in which the Aggies would win the SWC.